REFLECTIONS: Cardcaptor Sakura ~

May 28, 2007 at 11:13 pm | Posted in anime, cardcaptor sakura, lookback | 3 Comments



Key that hides the power of the stars, show your true form before me.
I, Sakura, command you under our contract…
Release!

Admit it. No one decent in the anime fandom wouldn’t know about Cardcaptor Sakura. It will have, and always has, a place in my heart as the first anime that really touched my heart, and the first anime I love not being able to fully retaliate from a horrible, horrible re-write dub. I’m not even going to mention the crap I know as Cardcaptors after this sentence. Every single episode of the series has given me a warm feeling inside and made me feel good because of the lighthearted, yet well-developed characters and story. You just don’t feel like hating any of the characters… to me at least. The first anime where I really got attached to the characters like never before. It’s right up there next to Shana as my favorite series (Haruhi doesn’t count because it’s everyone‘s favorite 😛 /lawl). “Hoé~” will also always be one of my most beloved character mannerisms, right next to “Uruchsai uruchsai uruchsai!

MADHOUSE did a great job in animating it too, it looked like they put alot of effort in it like I know they did. I esspecially liked how they reanimated and redrew the spell sequences almost every episode (due to Sakura’s ever-changing outfits) instead of reusing the same stock footage over and over again. That‘s what I call quality work.

Though, I’d say, a big reason to actually watch it is the developement of Sakura and Syaoran’s relationship. Cute couple! Any anime fan who doesn’t know about these two, I’ll personally slap in the back of the head. I liked how Sakura grew from having a childhood crush on Yukito, to realizing that Yukito isn’t her “number one”, to realizing that her number one was Syaoran and how Syaoran delt with his feelings. My only gripe with the series is that it strayed too far from the manga’s ending. I mean, the last volume of the manga pratically focuses on Sakura’s realization of her feelings for Syaoran, while the anime really kind of rushed it at the end and saves Sakura’s confession for the last movie (which was still very good).

Also…

Does it look like she’d… well… make it? At least let us see their last embrace in the series to let us know if she’s alive or not! ;; lol

Many thanks to Geneon and Tokyopop for bringing Cardcaptor Sakura some justice in America with a good English dub of the second movie and bringing the manga (not the first edition. The first edition was yuck) to the United States!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I LOVE CCS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!IT IS SO CUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!ESPECIALLY SAKURA AND SHAORAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. ❤ ❤ ❤ Cardcaptor Sakura! 😀

    Also, about that second picture: They actually do let us see the end–in the form of a bonus movie poster. The reasoning was that the last shot of the movie was zoomed out and not ideal for such a shot.

    • :3 Major DAAAAAW in my heart, that picture is so adorable. Yeah, I’ve seen that picture before. lol

      Also, blog wass moved here quite some time ago, in case you didn’t notice. ^^;; http://theotakuspot.animebloger.net


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

