Mononoke 03

August 16, 2007 at 11:07 pm | Posted in anime, mononoke | 2 Comments

A ship finds itself trapped in a sea of Ayakashi. Which passenger is the culprit that has sent them off-course?

I did a little research, and it seems that this episode has much more of a connection to Bakeneko than the last two episodes. A character that was in that arc of Ayakashi (Kayo) is in this arc of Mononoke. She also briefly mentions the events that happened in Bakeneko. There’s also an encounter with an Ayakashi (a very malicious spirit).

Anyhow, here’s a quick rundown of some passengers on board:

Druggist/Drug Merchant/Medicine Merchant (Man, I should really find that one consistent term for him…)

As badass as always. He also gives us a display of some good use of gunpowder (but not in a normal way… (;).

Yanagi Genyousai

Seems to be some sort of bard that has some knowledge of spirits. He reminds me of some other character from another anime that’s currently missplaced in my mind…

Sasaki Hyouhei

A very creepy-looking samurai. If someone first watches this episode and makes a guess at who the culprit is, this guy will most likely be it. He just seems like the type of character you’d make that sort of judgement on when you first look at him.

Interestingly, and this is probably only coming from me – Kenshin (Rurouni Kenshin), a very calm-looking samurai, popped into my head when I heard his voice. Pretty amusing.

And then we have these two honorable monks, who obviously didn’t do it… or did they?

The episode ends in suspense. It looks like the Medicine Merchant purposely made himself sound like a suspect for his own amusement. o_O

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I hate you because I’m putting off watching Mononoke because I want to watch the arc in full. How long I’ll hold up is anyone’s guess (hint: probably not long).

    Continuity is a bit of a shocker, though extra points for it!

    As an aside, I’m really looking forward to this arc, for two particular reasons. Chiaki Konaka (Serial Experiments Lain, Texhnolyze, The Big O) is doing the script, and seeing as there’s a budget and this isn’t an adaption, it’ll actually be good (which I can’t say for his incarnations of Hellsing, the Yotsuya Kaidan arc of Ayakashi, and Shadow Star Narutaru). Kasuhiro Furuhashi is doing storyboards, and his credentials are quite worth as well (director of Le Chevalier D’Eon and the Rurouni Kenshin OVAs, along with doing the storyboards for the fucking amazing fight in episode twelve of Noein).

  2. @HellKorn: lol I was a bit surprised with the continuity too. I sort of figured Mononoke was going to be one of those spin-offs that try not to have any to do with the previous series it’s based upon.


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.